ALG Condemns 70 House GOP Members Who Voted to Reward FBI

Nov. 10, 2023, Fairfax, Va.—Americans for Limited Government President Rick Manning today issued the following statement blasting 70 House Republicans who voted against removing the FBI’s new building in Greenbelt, Maryland in the Commerce, Science and Justice Appropriations bill:

“The Federal Bureau of Investigation has been a cesspool of political corruption for almost a decade, and 70 House Republicans voted today, along with their Democrat colleagues, to reward them by funding a new massive headquarters in Greenbelt, Maryland.  The same House GOP which set up the Judiciary Committee to investigate the weaponization of government just voted to give the face of the weaponization a new dream castle.  The same House GOP which has raised countless dollars and garnered hundreds of thousands of hours of airtime attacking the FBI’s knowing pursuit of false Russiagate allegations against President Trump, just voted to fund a palace for their punishment.  The same FBI that lied to the FISA Court repeatedly to subpoena Trump campaign officials.  The same FBI that spied on congressional staff investigating the FBI.  The same FBI that could not recognize Antifa as a terrorist group, but targeted parents attending school board meetings and Latin mass saying Catholic churches gets a new home that will make their Defense Department colleagues green with envy.  Yep, that is the FBI that seventy Republican House members couldn’t wait to give a massive upgrade.

“The House has the power of the purse.  It is their major power to control an out-of-control executive branch.  And today, 70 House Republicans sent the strongest message possible to the FBI, that they have nothing to fear from any investigations, because no matter what, they will get their money.  This is the true story of the swamp, where what members do on obscure votes on Friday afternoons matters far more than what they say on the Sunday news shows and in the evenings on Fox News. What a bunch of frauds.  Here are the names of those who voted against the Gaetz amendment to defund the FBI headquarters.”

For media availability contact Americans for Limited Government at