Republicans who voted for $1.2 trillion ‘infrastructure’ bill got played

Voters must hold big spending Republican senators accountable for enabling the likely passage of the additional $3.5 spending bill

Fairfax, Va. – Americans for Limited Government President Rick Manning today issued the following statement in reaction to the Senate passage of the $1.2 trillion so-called infrastructure spending bill and how it affects the additional Democrat spending bill they plan to pass on a partisan vote through budget reconciliation:

“Yesterday’s announcement by Bernie Sanders, the Socialist senator from Vermont, laying out the framework for a $3.5 trillion far-left wish list spending bill should come as no surprise to Senate Republicans who just voted for the so-called infrastructure bill. Sanders’ framework puts in place much of the Green New Deal, attempts to phase out every car that runs on gas, would hire tens of thousands of environmental activists under the guise of a ‘Climate Conservation Corps’ to advocate against the free-enterprise system and would give amnesty with a glide path to citizenship for millions of illegal aliens. Normally, this kind of legislation could be dismissed, but we don’t live in normal times.

“Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer has already said he plans to pass this latest assault on America on a strictly partisan basis. Expect to hear howls of opposition from the very same Senate Republicans who voted for the bi-partisan so-called infrastructure spending bill. The truth is, every single one of them knew that the $3.5 trillion partisan bill would not pass the House of Representatives without the bi-partisan bill also having passed. The 19 Republicans who voted for the bi-partisan bill effectively enabled the Green New Deal wish list to have a strong chance of passage. Their constituents should hold them accountable.”

The following 19 Republicans voted in favor of the $1.2 trillion so-called infrastructure spending bill:

Richard Burr, N.C. **

Roy Blunt, Mo.**

Shelley Moore Capito, W. Va.

Bill Cassidy, La.

Susan Collins, Maine

Kevin Cramer, N.D.

Mike Crapo, Idaho *

Deb Fischer, Neb. *

Lindsey Graham

Chuck Grassley *

John Hoeven, N.D. *

Mitch McConnell, Ky.

Lisa Murkowski, Alaska *

Rob Portman, Ohio **

James Risch, Idaho

Mitt Romney, Utah

Dan Sullivan, Alaska

Thom Tillis, N.C.

Roger Wicker, Miss.

* Face re-election in Nov. 2022

** Has announced his retirement in 2022

For media availability contact Catherine Mortensen at or 703.478.4643.