ALG thanks 32 House Republicans for signing Marino-Duffy letter against legal settlements transferring monies to third party groups

Dec. 11, 2015, Fairfax, Va.—Americans for Limited Government President Rick Manning today issued the following statement thanking 32 House Republicans who signed onto a letter by Rep. Tom Marino (R-Pa.) and Rep. Sean Duffy (R-Wis.) urging House leaders to include a rider in the omnibus spending bill for the remainder of fiscal year 2016 that would prohibit the use of funds to award monies from legal settlements to third party activist groups:

“Americans for Limited Government thanks the 32 House members who signed the Marino-Duffy letter against the use of legal settlement monies for third party activist groups. These slush funds are inexcusable. In the past 16 months alone the Department of Justice has awarded a half-a-billion dollars to third party activist groups, but thanks to the efforts of these House members now, it may be stopped in the omnibus.

The $17 billion Bank of America settlement is a perfect example of the misuse of settlements as Bank of America was required to give millions of dollars to third party activist groups. Legal proceedings by the government must never be used as shakedowns to enrich the coffers of any political cause, regardless of ideology.”

Letter to House Speaker Paul Ryan and House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, Dec. 7, 2015 at

Tom Marino
Sean Duffy
Jeff Miller
Scott Tipton
Scott Garrett
Chris Stewart
Doug LaMalfa
Stephen Fincher
John Fleming
Paul Gosar
Ken Buck
Mike Kelly
Mike Fitzpatrick
Buddy Carter
Peter King
Scott DesJarlais
John Ratcliffe
Mike Bishop
Ralph Abraham
Tom Emmer
Brad Wenstrup
Jim Bridenstine
Tom McClintock
Dave Trott
French Hill
Randy Hultgren
Doug Collins
Jeb Hensarling
Darrell Issa
Jim Sensenbrenner
Lamar Smith
Rob Woodall
Gus Bilirakis
Blake Farenthold

Interview Availability: Please contact Americans for Limited Government at 703-383-0880 ext. 106 or at to arrange an interview with ALG experts including ALG President Rick Manning.